Mid-Illinois Medical District

In January 2003, the Illinois Medical District at Springfield was created by the 92nd General Assembly as the second Medical District in the state. In 2007, it was renamed the Mid-Illinois Medical District and  covers an area in the City of Springfield bounded by 11th Street on the east, Madison Street on the south, Walnut Street on the west, and North Grand Avenue on the north. While the boundaries for the Medical District are slightly larger than that of Enos Park, it is the residential area that sits entirely within the borders of the Medical District, anchored by St. John’s Hospital to the east and Memorial Medical Center to the west.

The MIMD is overseen by 11 Commissioners, who are responsible for the District’s activities. The law requires that six Commissioners be appointed by the governor, four appointed by the Mayor of Springfield and one appointed by the Sangamon County Board. Ryan Croke currently serves as President of the Commission. View a list of the other Commissioners and their bios here:


The Mid-Illinois Medical District Commission meetings are open to the public.